colorful part of Oriental's history is painted in the legends
of the notorious pirate, Edward Teach, known as Blackbeard.
Blackbeard allegedly established a hideout on the peninsula
separating Green and Smith Creeks. Until 1955, an ancient
live oak stood in this area that was reportedly the pirate's
lookout to discover passing vessels and where he buried
the late nineteenth century, Captain Louis Midyette, a former
Confederate blockade runner, was returning home to Dare
county from New Bern when a northeast gale forced him to
seek shelter in Smith Creek. He eventually settled in the
area, and his wife is credited with giving Oriental its
unique name, which she found on a ship's name board, "Oriental,"
which had washed ashore on the Outer Banks. The Oriental
post office was established in 1896 and the town became
incorporated in 1899.
is located on the Neuse River where the Intracoastal Waterway
passes by the town. Its fine harbor and restaurants attract
visitors boating from Canada to Florida and the Caribbean
on a regular basis. Local creeks provide excellent anchorages
as well as opportunities for canoeing, kayaking, and small
boat sailing in protected waters. The charm of the village
has also fueled an influx of artists, writers, and sailors
from diverse regions of the globe.